[X] CLOSEMAIN MENU

[X] CLOSEIN THIS SECTION

International Actions to Protect Health and Environment: A Report from the Stockholm Convention on POPs

May 24, 2017
1:00 pm US Eastern Time

The Stockholm Convention is a living treaty that recognizes the need to take global action on chemicals that are of concern because of their persistence, bioaccumulation, long-range environmental transport, and toxicity. The Conference of Parties to the Stockholm Convention met in Geneva, Switzerland, at the end of April. The treaty’s expert scientific committee recommended three chemicals for global elimination because of the evidence showing that they are likely to lead to significant adverse effects on human health and/or the environment. 

Join us on May 24, 2017 at 9am Alaska / 10am Pacific / 1pm Eastern to hear a first-hand report from delegates who attended the eighth Conference of Parties of the Stockholm Convention (COP8). Learn why these chemicals are of particular concern to Indigenous Peoples in the Arctic, find out what was decided in Geneva, and discuss what actions are needed next. 

Featured Speakers

  • Rochelle Diver,  San Francisco Office Director, International Indian Treaty Council
  • Pamela Miller, Executive Director, Alaska Community Action on Toxics
  • Vi Waghiyi, Environmental Health and Justice Program Director, Alaska Community Action on Toxics 

This call will be hosted by the CHE-AK Partnership. It will last for 1 hour and will be recorded for the call archive.