[X] CLOSEMAIN MENU

[X] CLOSEIN THIS SECTION

A Holistic Approach to Public Health: Addressing Toxic Exposures, Environmental Justice, and Intergenerational Trauma

November 28, 2018
1:00 pm US Eastern Time

Join Lynn Freedman, JD, MPH, at 9am Alaska / 10am Pacific / 1pm Eastern on November 28 for a discussion of the work she and her colleagues are doing to transform the field of public health and how community partnerships and leadership are vital to preventing health harm. Alaska Native people and other Indigenous peoples face health disparities that can only be remedied if we think about public health and conduct public health work in a more holistic way. Lynn P. Freedman is a professor of Population and Family Health at Columbia University’s Mailman School of Public Health with a focus on maternal health and expertise in global health, human rights, and reproductive health.

Featured Speaker

Lynn FreedmanLynn P. Freedman, JD, MPH, currently directs the Columbia University Mailman School of Public Health's Averting Maternal Death and Disability (AMDD) Program, a global program of research, policy analysis, and technical support that, since 1999, has worked with UN agencies, NGOs, and governments in more than 50 countries in Asia, Africa, and Latin America to reduce maternal mortality.

Before joining the faculty at Columbia University in 1990, Professor Freedman worked as a practicing attorney in New York City. Professor Freedman has published widely on issues of maternal mortality and on health and human rights, with a particular focus on gender and women's health. She also serves on the advisory boards of maternal health projects and human rights projects with programs in Asia, Sub-Saharan Africa and Latin America.

 

This call will be hosted by the CHE-Alaska Partnership, which is coordinated by Alaska Community Action on Toxics (ACAT). It will last for 60 minutes and will be recorded for the call and webinar archive.