[X] CLOSEMAIN MENU

[X] CLOSEIN THIS SECTION

Protecting Future Generations: The Need to Unravel Historical Intergenerational Trauma

March 28, 2018
1:00 pm US Eastern Time

Historical trauma is a combination of immense losses and traumatic "happenings" that are perpetrated upon entire cultures. These losses include culture, language, land, people (deaths due to diseases and war), way of life, religion and family structure. When the causes and effects of these wounds have not been resolved, they are transmitted from one generation to the next. The untold history lives on at a cellular level- a cellular memory. The hurt, suffering and pain of trauma/injustice when left untouched continues to cause harm until it is finally addressed.


Join us on March 28, 2018 at 9am Alaska / 10am Pacific / 1pm Eastern for a discussion with presenters Lisa Ellanna, Director of Kawerak Katirvik Cultural Center in Nome, and Elder Kathy Sanchez, Environmental Health and Justice Program Manager at Tewa Women United, about internalized oppression and community approaches to healing.

Join the conversation about the importance of resolving intergenerational historical trauma to achieve environmental health and justice. To learn more about our speakers, you can watch videos of Lisa Ellana and Elder Kathy Sanchez speaking at the Alaska Children's Environmental Health Summit.

This call will be hosted by the CHE-Alaska Partnership. It will last for 60 minutes and be recorded for the call and webinar archive.