[X] CLOSEMAIN MENU

[X] CLOSEIN THIS SECTION

CHE-AK call: The Hidden Hazards of Coal Development in Alaska: Public Health and Coal Combustion Waste

August 11, 2010
10:00 am US Eastern Time

Slides & Resources

Fact Sheet: Coal Ash and Your Health
Download the PDF


Report by Environmental Integrity and Earthjustice - Out of Control: Mounting Damages from Coal Ash Waste Sites
Download the PDF


Letter to President Obama re: Coal Ash Regulations
Download the PDF

August 11, 9am Alaska time (10am Pacific / 1pm Eastern)

Coal combustion waste, or coal ash, is the material that remains after coal is burned.  Coal ash may contain heavy metals, radioactive elements, polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons (PAHs), and particulate matter, all of which contribute to public health and environmental problems. Alaska currently has six coal-fired power plants, all located between Healy and Fairbanks in Alaska’s Interior. Coal ash from these facilities is used as fill in local areas, including public spaces, university grounds, and residential neighborhoods, which may pose a health hazard to nearby communities.  Improper disposal of this waste in holding ponds or landfill sites may also result in hazardous exposures.
 
Join us for a discussion of the dangerous chemicals in coal ash, how these chemicals may affect our health, air, water and food, and how you can help to protect Alaskans from the health hazards of coal ash.
 
GUEST SPEAKERS:

  • Barb Gottlieb, Deputy Director, Environment & Health, Physicians for Social Responsibility
  • Lisa N. Widawsky, Attorney, Environmental Integrity Project
  • Russ Maddox, Board member of Resurrection Bay Conservation Alliance and Executive Committee member of the Alaska Chapter of the Sierra Club.  

For more information or to join this free call and receive dial-up instructions, please RSVP to Alaska Community Action on Toxics at 907-222-7714 or Contact